And then there were Sixteen!

Three more teams punched their tickets into the Sweet Sixteen last evening.  2 Miami got by 7 Illinois in a close one, 63 – 59.  13 LaSalle edged 12 Ole Miss in another close game, 76 – 74 and 2 Duke leading 7 Creighton by only four points at the half, poured it on in the second half to advance with a 66 – 50 victory.

Sweet Sixteen competition gets underway this Thursday:  Midwest Region: 1 Louisville vs. 12 Oregon (how about those Ducks, and it is not college football, it is college basketball!); 3 Michigan State vs. 2 Duke.  West Region: 9 Wichita State vs. 13 LaSalle; 6 Arizona vs. 2 Ohio State.  South Region: 1 Kansas vs. 4 Michigan; 3 Florida vs. 15 Florida Gulf Coast College (this team must now be declared the “Cinderella” of this year’s tourney!).  East Region: 1 Indiana vs. 4 Syracuse; 3 Marquette vs. 2 Miami.

First time ever that three teams from the state of Florida have made the Sweet Sixteen.  Also, for all the talk about the Big Ten, the Big East, once again, the ACC sends two teams to the Sweet Sixteen!

This entry was posted in basketball, Blog, events. Bookmark the permalink.