What a day!!!

It’s Saturday and that means College Football!!  Watching Wake Forest and FSU, WOW!  FSU looks scary good!  Pittsburgh is beating up on Virginia Tech early.  What is up with that?

Getting ready to head out to Bobby Dodd Stadium at Grant Field to watch GT vs. Virginia.  Hope GT gets it done!!  Back with you later…

I’m back…

Well, Braves take game two of three game series with Washington.  Way to go Braves…

Tennessee cannot keep up with Florida’s speed.  They are better but they are not back yet.

Alabama stomps on Arkansas.  No surprise, really.  Virginia Tech loses badly to Pittsburgh.  Really?   If it were 2013, it would be an ACC loss.  I predict they will lose at least two ACC games, Florida State and Clemson.  Georgia Tech was VERY IMPRESSIVE in victory over Virginia.  GT is an underrated team.  Defense is superb!  Vad Lee is the rumored to be the best pure passer at the flats since George Godsey!   He is the backup quarterback!  Watch out for them.  They may just run the table and take the Coastal Division.  The only problem games I see on their schedule right now are at Clemson and at Georgia.  Only one is an ACC game.  That being said, it is never a bad thing to beat the Dawgs!  Will post a couple of pics tomorrow!

USC is leading Stanford and it is time to check on the Indy race outside of lovely LA!

USC upset by Stanford 21-14.  How about the brainiacs!  Will be interesting to see how this affects the polls on Sunday/Monday?  Will FSU move up in a big way?  Hard to believe USC let this happen.  I thought Matt Barkley came back to help USC win National Championship.  Not likely that will happen now.

Forgot to mention the GT uniforms.  Way to go Jackets!  Brought back the old gold helmets with the GT on side along with the new snazzy uniforms.  Looking good…..

Indy race not over yet.  Power is out  (too bad , so sad).  Hunter-Reay may catch him in points race.  Dario is running in fourth place with twenty three laps to go.  Hunter-Reay one place shy of a championship.  Will monitor this race (DVR hard at work as we speak) and will follow up tomorrow.

What a day!!!


Posted in baseball, Blog, football, Indy Racing | Comments Off on What a day!!!

Nasty Neighbors

Bad loss for South Florida last night.  Packers take care of Bears, 23-10.  Cutler had four (4!) interceptions.  Maybe the baby is keeping him up at night?

A couple of other interesting matchups this weekend in College Football.  Florida vs. Tennessee and USC vs. Stanford.  Matt Barkley has never beaten Stanford (of course Stanford had Andrew Luck for those wins).  I expect that will change this weekend.  Florida against Tennessee at Neyland Stadium could be interesting.  That is always a difficult place to play for the visiting team.  Is Tennessee really back??

NBA question: Anybody want to sign off on the new look Lakers being the favorite in the West and get to the Championship game.  Steve Nash will be interesting addition and they have a better bench now.  The big (BIG) addition, Dwight Howard, still the man-child?, at center with Bynum shipped off.  I am so glad they kept Pau Gasol.  I love Gasol and never understood the trade Gasol mindset.  While Bynum is hugely talented, he had a real downside with a lack of maturity and bit of shall we say “attitude problem”.  I think with Kobe and Howard, keeping Gasol and other additions including Nash, I would pick the Lakers as favorites, at least in West.  OKC is certainly on the upswing but still young so I am going with the Lakers.  Can Kobe get ring number six?

Braves take the first of a three game series with the Nationals here in Atlanta,  They win 2-1 on a throwing error in the bottom of the ninth.  Another tremendous performance by pitcher Chris Medlin and the Braves’ bullpen.

Izod Indy Series in Southern California racing tomorrow night.  This race will decide this year’s series points winner, Will Power looks like the favorite.  My favorite, Dario Franchetti, is in ninth place so pretty much out of it for this year.  He has been the winner for the past three years so bit of an off year for him.  His teammate Scott Dixon has an outside chance since he is currently in fourth place.  Still, Dario won Indy 500!! Yeah!  Moreover, this race is an oval.  Hopefully will be an exciting one and cannot complain about the setting.  I love LA!

ABC’s news show 20/20 is doing a show tonight on “Nasty Neighbors”.  That is a topic I am all too familiar with!  (www.survivingparadise.info).

Goodnight.


Posted in baseball, basketball, Blog, football, Indy Racing, sports figures, Surviving "Paradise", tv shows | Comments Off on Nasty Neighbors

Showdown at Lambeau… Bears vs Packers

Better game on tonight, NFL, Bears vs. Packers or College Football, South Florida vs. Rutgers??  I am going to go with the showdown at Lambeau… Bears vs. Packers.  Packers do not want to start the year off 0-2 but Bears just might get it done.  Stay tuned ..

I will have to switch back and forth and of course jump over to ESPN Classics to check out rerun of Friday Night Lights, one of the best and most underappreciated tv shows ever!!

Well, no Friday Night Lights on tonight, maybe tomorrow night.

Yankees shut out Red Sox at Fenway 2-0.  My Boston buddy (from Survivng “Paradise”, self proclaimed prick from the Northeast!) is home visiting his friends for the first time in two years.  I know he is there and disappointed in his beloved Red Sox.  Such a storied franchise has become a soap opera and is in last place in the division.

Rutgers tied with South Florida in the 4th quarter.  Packers lead Bears 13-3 in 3rd quarter.

Great weekend of college football coming up.  Alabama vs. Arkansas has lost a bit of its lustre if Tyler Wilson cannot play for the Razorbacks.  Hope GT looks good against Virginia.

Monday night Petyon Manning and the Broncos will come a calling in the ATL to play Falcons.  Should be great!


Posted in Blog, ESPN, tv shows | Comments Off on Showdown at Lambeau… Bears vs Packers

Michelle Kwan

Welcome to the ACC Notre Dame!(?), except in football…So they will bring their somewhat fading relevance and huge TV money deal to the ACC in all sports except football.  Also, they will play five games against ACC opponents in football.  Hard to say who this is going to benefit most?  The fifty million plus exit fee that will now exist is a stabilizing factor for the ACC.  Still, not sure ACC is the outright winner here.

A little trivia..who is the most decorated U.S. figure skater in history? (male or female)  Answer: Michelle Kwan, who just got engaged.  Congrats to her!  I loved to watch her skate, she brought such heart and joy to her beautiful and elegant performances, she could bring one to tears she was so special.  And, like Roger Federer, she never won Olympic gold.  That’s ok, they are both the best ever!


Posted in Blog, ice skating | Comments Off on Michelle Kwan

9-11-2001- Have not felt quite right all day

Well this has been a day of many emotions.  Have not felt quite right all day.  9/11 is a day that brings out emotion in all of us who remember the horror of 9/11/2001.

Got a chance to watch replay of GT vs. Presbyterian game.  Any time you have well over 700 yards of total offense, it is a good day.  Consider the competition, still nice game for GT.  Really glad to see Vad Lee, nice TD pass and running by him.  He is the future of GT football.  Will be at the Virginia game next Saturday and will share pics along with posts after that game.  Hope it will be a great performance by GT.

What does everyone thing of the uniforms?  This is a popular topic in college football this year.  It all began with Oregon and their uniforms and then Maryland followed suit.  I like the uniforms, the honeycomb look is distinct.  Still a bit old school and sort of miss the traditional gold helmets with GT on the side.  Looks like they are going to go with these new uniforms for the remainder of the year.  Here’s hoping to a lot of wins to go along with the new look!


Posted in Blog | Comments Off on 9-11-2001- Have not felt quite right all day

HE’S BACK…. Peyton Manning

HE’S BACK…. Peyton Manning looking good last night in victory over Steelers.  What a class act as well.  Wander if that other guy, Jim Irsay, was watching?

Next up for Denver, a date with the Falcons next Sunday night.  Should be a good one!

US Open;  Good for Andy!!  Andy Murray finally wins a Major!  I was pulling for him.  Cannot say that Judy does not drive me nuts but still happy to see Andy finally win a major and get the monkey off his back.  Kind of nice to have four of the big four win all four of the different majors this year.  Plus, on personal note, Djokovic loosing keeps him off Roger’s tail as far as number one ranking!  Andy will become number three in the world anyway, partly due to Nadal being out of the mix due to injury.  This will make for an exciting finish to the year end of 2012 culminating at the year end final in London.  Most likely whoever wins will claim the year end number one ranking.  Roger Federer is the best indoor player in the world so here is to hoping for Roger winning the year end final in London for the sixth (!) time and finishing 2012 as number one.  He is still number one in the world and number one in my heart!  Congratulations to Andy Murray!  Much deserved.


Posted in Blog, football, sports figures | Comments Off on HE’S BACK…. Peyton Manning

No, Not so fast!

Djokovic takes cares of Ferrer in four sets so tomorrow Murray vs. Djoker for US Open title.  Should be a good one.  Later today, Serena vs. Azarenka, I expect Serena to prevail.  We shall see.

NFL is here at last!  Falcons in tight battle with Kansas City, tied 17-17.  Good to see Micheal sitting along side Curt, Howie, and Terry.

BMW Championship underway, Lefty is really coming on strong.  More to follow…

Falcons pouring it on now. Tony G having great day as is Matt Ryan.  Anybody know that Matt Ryan married Sara Marshall (spelling could be Sara or Sarah?)  Just like movie Forgetting Sarah Marshall???

Stephen Hill and Calvin Johnson, two former GT standout receivers both having big opening days.

BMW now “all about Rory”. What a performance.  Tiger made a late run but not enough.  Lefty and Westwood finish tied for second, Tiger third.

UPSET ALERT: No, Not so fast!  Serena wins US Open title over Azarenka in a tremendous match, 6-2, 2-6, 7-5.  Surely these are the two best women tennis players in the world right now.  Anyone notice member of LMFAO in Azarenka’s box?  “There’s a party in the house tonight, everybody’s gonna have a good time”!  The good time went to Serena.

What a weekend of sports.  Had to catch a break this am and watch a bit of Meg Ryan rom-com fluff, Kate and Leopold.  Hugh Jackman and Liev Schrieber were a nice diversion as well.  So long for now…


Posted in Blog, golf, pop culture, sports figures | Comments Off on No, Not so fast!

Jammed pack day of sports!

Jammed pack day of sports!  Theme of the day, rain, rain go away!!  However, it did make it easier to keep up with all that was in store on this busy Saturday.

US Open managed only one men’s semifinal completion as Murray took out Berdych in four sets.  Ferrer leads Djokovic 5-2 in first set that will resume tomorrow morning.  Could this be Murray’s chance to finally win a Major??  Again this year the men’s final will not be played until Monday.  Women’s final between Serena and Azarenka will be played tomorrow afternoon, postponed from tonight due to rain.  I am picking Serena.

College Football has been exciting and yet predictable.  The teams that were again playing cupcakes like FSU vs. Savannah State had their way.  No one should have to pay to see a game like that.  Welcome to the SEC for Texas A & M and Missouri.  Florida managed to escape with a hard fought victory over A & M in College Station, TX, 20-17.  In the first half, Missouri is holding its own, tied with Georgia 3-3.

Georgia Tech seems to be handling Presbyterian so far, as well they should.

LSU, USC, Oregon and Alabama all performed (or are performing as in the case of LSU) as they should.  Oregon may be the fastest team in the country.

BMW Golf Championship has seen Mickelson make a huge run and he is currently tied with V J Singh at 16 under.  Mcllroy and Westwood follow at 15 under.  Adam Scott and two others are right there at 14 under and Tiger stumbled slightly but is still hanging around at 13 under.  Should hopefully be an exciting finish in the final tournament before the Fed Ex final in Atlanta.

Stay tuned, the day is not over yet.

Georgia Tech wallops Presbyterian 59-3.  Was that Vad Lee’s name I saw on two touchdown scores??  One a two yard run and the other a 82 yard TD pass!  The future did not spend the whole game on the bench.

Georgia ahead of Missouri in the 4th quarter 27-20.  Number 8 Arkansas (with starting quarterback out with injury) tied 28-28 with University of Louisiana-Monroe and headed to overtime.

Update: UL-Monroe upsets Arkansas in OT 34-31.  Went for TD on 4th and one.  WOW!

Whatever the outcome of Missouri-UGA game, both Texas A & M and Missouri look ready to compete in SEC!  That being said, Missouri is now imploding and Georgia is going to win big,  Game was closer than score will indicate.

Tomorrow will be another full day!


Posted in Blog, football, golf | Comments Off on Jammed pack day of sports!

Battle of the screamers

In the battle of the screamers, Azarenka comes out on top.  Good for her!  Not really much of a Sharapova fan.  She seems too cold for my taste, Azarenka seems to have more soul!  Serena up next.  I would have to predict Serena vs. Azarenka for Us Open title.  Stay tuned…

Tiger and Rory playing with Whatney both come in at 12 under, one off the lead.  Should be a good two final rounds at BMW Championship heading into Fed Ex final at East Lake in Atlanta, GA.. (Shout out for Atlanta, Georgia!!)


Posted in Blog, golf, sports figures, Tennis | Comments Off on Battle of the screamers

I love Meg Ryan

OK people, first of all, the sky is not falling!!!! Roger Federer lost in the quarterfinals of the US Open.  He is fine!!!!  He won his 7th Wimbledon, his 17th Grand Slam, and regained the number 1 ranking in the world, which by the way he is guaranteed to hold onto until at least October 15, 2012.  He played Wimbledon, the Olympics, Cincinnati (which he won) and then came to New York,  He is 31 years old and travels with a wife and two three year old twin daughters.  He will be fine and he will win some more.

Speaking of US Open, how about a semi-final match between Sharapova and Azarenka.  WOW! Talk about loud.  Between the two of them, the shrieking should be ear shattering!  Kind of reminds me of those Bulgarian woman in my neighborhood in Surviving “Paradise”, outside flapping their arms about shrieking like some strange species of bird!!  Tennis is supposed to be played quietly.  Ok, I told myself I was not going to be negative.  I am just saying…

Pop Culture:  I love Meg Ryan.  Why all the negativity about her.  She is adorable.  She was adorable.  She was the epitome of the original girl next door for a generation, and could sell out a box office with her name attached to a movie in the 1990’s.  I have a particular affinity for her since I first discovered her as a young mother watching her on the soap opera As The World Turns as Betsy Stewart Montgomery Andropolus.  I loved her then and I love her now. Sure, she is now longer making movies much that we see, I actually saw her on the cover of Instyle Magazine before The Women came out and thought she looked fantastic.  She is apparently now happily attached to John Mellencamp for almost two years.  She put herself through NYU by doing commercials (six credits shy of a degree in Journalism).  There is a lot to admire about her.  I think she got a bum rap with all the negativity thrown at her over the whole “Russel Crowe” affair.  Clearly her marriage with Dennis Quaid was not what it appeared.  Love Dennis as an actor but I do not think he was such a great husband to Meg for many years.  Let’s cut her some slack.  She is a person who cares deeply and gives back in many ways.  Soon she will be seen as part of a documentary on PBS called Half The Sky detailing the awful slave trade of young girls into prostitution.  She is I am sure a good person in many ways and has provided us with many entertaining moments, not the least of which was the iconic scene in When Harry Met Sally.  I’ll have what she’s having!!

Over and out for now….


Posted in Blog, celebrities, Human Interest, pop culture, sports figures, Surviving "Paradise", Tennis | Comments Off on I love Meg Ryan